I Fell Prey to a “Make Money Online” Scam

Bonita Jewel, MFA
7 min readOct 20, 2021
Photo by Tara Winstead from Pexels

In the article I posted yesterday, I gave an overview of four legitimate ways to earn money online.

Unfortunately, where you can find opportunities to secure online jobs, projects, and gigs, you will also run into the risk of getting scammed.

Many advertisements for earning money online are complete scams.

And for plenty of others, the time and money you spend on them exceed any monetary benefits you eventually earn back.

So, if you’re planning on launching a work-from-home career, you need to be able to recognize these time-and-money wasters.

You’ll want to avoid these online scams …

“Too Good to be True” Online Scam

If something seems too good to be true, it probably is.

When my husband and I returned to California after 11+ years living in India, I started looking for work opportunities through Craigslist, a platform where you can advertise pretty much everything locally — from long-term jobs to items for sale to one-time work gigs.

Over the space of a month or two, I probably browsed every single job description on Craigslist. Some seemed interesting and easy.

--

--